Why it doesn’t matter if the glass is half full or empty

Why it doesn’t matter if the glass is half full or empty 

How often have you heard the saying: is the glass half full or half empty? I would guess as often as I have. I hadn’t thought much more about it, but was forced to listen to it again recently. I had tickets for a speaker here in Germany and he is known for the great morals that he teaches.  As soon as he put a half glass of water in front of the table I knew he was going to ask: Half full or half empty? My mind was already screaming Boring! But he took me by surprise when he asked: “How heavy is this glass of water?” What? How heavy? Why did he want to know that? What was really important, however, was that he had my attention back.

The answers he was given were quite different ranging from 5 ounces to 15 ounces, but the answer he gave took me also by surprise.  He answered that the weight doesn’t matter. What matters is how long I hold it in my hand. When I hold it for a minute there is no problem at all.

When I hold it for one hour my arm will start hurting, but if I try holding it for one day my arm will go numb. In all three cases the weight of the glass is the same. But the longer I hold it, the heavier it gets and the more painful.

Our worries and problems in life are comparable with this glass of water. When we think only a little about them nothing happens. When we think more about them it gets harder, but when we think day in and day out about them we feel numb and paralyzed and we don’t feel able to do something against them.

So always remember to put the glass of water down every once in awhile.

Since then I have tried to lay down my worries and as hard as it is, when I do it, I feel free and better equipped to accomplish my goals.

Your Sebastian

10 thoughts on “Why it doesn’t matter if the glass is half full or empty

  1. That’s totally true, we should focus more on “let things go” instead of overthinking a theme which isn’t possible to solve at a specific time. Sometimes you need to practise, practise to carry the weight for a longer time or even start in another time area solving a problem.

    Awesome story.

  2. Lovely point of view.
    I saw a cartoon that showed two fish in a glass of water filled to the midline. One was nose down in the water and the other was nose up. Half full or half empty sure made an impact on those two fellas differently!

  3. Good advice. Isaiah 26:3 and 1st Peter 5:7 suggest a good place to set it where it might get taken care of without having to pick it up again

  4. Very true — thanks for sharing this story! I’m working on laying down my worries this year by visiting and commenting on positive blogs, a different one each day, so that I’ll have pleasant and constructive thoughts to take their place. I enjoyed my visit here today, and will remember the wisdom in this post next time I get stuck ruminating about some old worry.

  5. I like this analogy a lot- and it makes perfect sense-but then, we do not always do the sensible thing do we when it comes to worry and stress- I have enjoyed visiting your blog a great deal and thank you for visiting Little Dogs Laughed-I appreciate you taking the time to visit and look-

Leave a Reply

